The Pop Culture Playlist: Nightwing

After a month’s absence, The Pop Culture Playlist is back and focusing on Dick Grayson. Nightwing is one of the most richly detailed characters in comic history. The original Boy Wonder has carved out a life for himself away from Batman. He’s been a leader of the Teen Titans, Justice League and even taken on the role of his mentor. Here is a playlist that captures the life of Nightwing.

nightwing-nicola-scott

 

I Believe I Can Fly by R Kelly

I believe I can fly
I believe I can touch the sky
I think about it every night and day
Spread my wings and fly away
I believe I can soar

From his early days in Haley’s Circus, to his crime fighting escapades, Nightwing knows how to fly. He’s the only human capable of performing a quadruple somersault. The song can also describe his desire to live in the moment and optimistic view point.

Around The World by Daft Punk

Around the world, around the world
Around the world, around the world
Around the world, around the world
Around the world, around the world

Daft Punk’s upbeat rhythm is the perfect backing track for Nightwing’s positivity.

Hang on by Seether

Well now I find myself
Wish I was someone else
My hands are stained with love
Wish I could take it away
I hid behind the shell
In time the pain will melt
My heart is stained with love
Wish I could fake it

This song is a good choice for describing the relationship Dick has with Bruce. It can be seen from Bruce’s perspective of being dedicated to his mission and Dick providing him with balance.

Castle on The Hill by Ed Sheeran

I was younger then, take me back to when I
Found my heart and broke it here
Made friends and lost them through the years
And I’ve not seen the roaring fields in so long, I know I’ve grown
But I can’t wait to go home
I’m on my way
Driving at ninety down those country lanes
Singing to “Tiny Dancer”
And I miss the way you make me feel, and it’s real
We watched the sunset over the castle on the hill

Castle On The Hill makes me think of Dick and his relationship with the rest of the Teen Titans. They all joined together from a young age and matured into a capable team. Their friendship has lasted years. I imagine Nightwing returning to Titan Tower for a reunion with Donna, Garth, Kori, Roy and Raven and them reminiscing on good times.

Antigravity by Starset

Over walls and weights
This antigravity taking over me
And far below, the carnivores
Are looking up to where I soar
Above the clouds, above the storm
Above the earth I am transformed
The energy has set me free
And pulled me through the galaxy
I’ve risen up beyond the sky

This song describes Nightwing’s thirst for freedom. Even as Robin, he wasn’t going to live in Batman’s shadow forever. He was able to become independent and create a superhero legacy of his own.

NightwingOracle-COLOR1a

While We’re Young by Marianas Trench

The way your words hang in the moment suspended when
You say something you can’t take back again
A heavy hush takes hold
The quiet won’t let go
I was there watching you
Watching me, missing you

While We’re Young describes Nightwing and Batgirl’s relationship. He and Barbara have shared an attraction for years and they always seem to find a way back to each other. The melancholy vibe of the song contrasts with the desire for both Dick and Barb to live in the moment while they’re young.

c4ed2f1eb1179c446aa4860fec0a4988

September by Daughtry

Of all the things I still remember
Summer’s never looked the same
The years go by and time just seems to fly
But the memories remain
In the middle of September we’d still play out in the rain
Nothing to lose but everything to gain
Reflecting now on how things could’ve been
It was worth it in the end

When I listen to this song I think of Dick’s relationship with Starfire. Although they shared a very passionate relationship they were unable to make it work. However, their love for each other remains strong and they still have memories they can be fond of.

Living Louder by The Cab

‘Cause we’re all just kids
Who grew up way too fast
Yeah the good die young
But the great will always last
We’re growing older
But we’re all soldiers tonight

Living Louder is the anthem for Nightwing and the rest of the Robins. As the original, he is looked to as the example of what it means to work beside Batman. But his relationship with each of his brothers is different. Dick and Jason’s relationship can be described as strained, while his relationship with Tim is one of mutual respect and companionship. His bond with Damian is very strong, as they worked together as Batman and Robin for a long time.

Remember The Name by Fort Minor

Put it together himself, now the picture connects
Never asking for someone’s help, or to get some respect
He’s only focused on what he wrote, his will is beyond reach
And now it all unfolds, the skill of an artist

This song represents how Dick built himself up from the death of his parents and moved forward with his life. Unlike Batman, he doesn’t wallow in his pain. He holds onto the good things and keeps them close.

Leave by Matchbox 20

It’s aggravating
How you threw me on and you tore me out
How your good intentions turn to doubt
The way you needed time to sort it out

Leave is a good song for describing the transitionary period of Dick’s life. When he gave up being Robin and became Nightwing, his relationship with Bruce was strained. In the end they were able to work it out and become closer.

What songs do you think describe Nightwing best? If you’d like to see your favourite hero or villain appear on The Pop Culture Playlist then comment below!

Author: thecomicvault

A place for superheroes, positive mental health and pop culture references. Unlock your inner geek and step inside.

7 thoughts on “The Pop Culture Playlist: Nightwing”

  1. What? There was more than one Robin?! I’ve never read the comics so please excuse my lack of knowledge. I guess Robin is more like the name of the superhero and different people can wear the costume?

    Like

Leave a comment