Cosplayer Interview: Kamiko Zero

I’ve been on a mission to hear from other cosplayers and help them gain some recognition for their awesome designs. My first cosplayer interview is with the talented Kseniya, also known as Kamiko Zero. Kseniya was kind enough to shed some light on the kind of cosplaying she does and offers helpful advice on anyone who’s thinking about getting into cosplay.

13641042_483537328506325_8638355127852046185_o

Thanks for agreeing to the interview Kseniya. Could you give me some background into what you do when you’re not cosplaying?

In addition to my cosplay works, I’m a baker, I make custom cakes and cupcakes – this is my main job. Besides this I create accessories for cosplay on order and take care of two cutest puppies.

What made you want to start cosplaying?

I found the idea of reincarnating your favourite characters very interesting. It gives you the opportunity to feel like a different person, to get used to the role, and a way to please the people around you. Fans have the ability to take pictures and talk with the hero they have only previously seen on the screen. It’s an amazing feeling for me as a cosplayer and as a fan.

Is there a big cosplay scene in Moscow and do you think there should be more awareness brought to it?

Each year the amount of cosplay events in Russia is growing, in Moscow and St. Petersburg – the largest convention for cosplay, every year cosplay in Russia is getting better. Great attention is paid to this.

You’ve cosplayed characters like Huntress and Starfire, so it’s safe to say you have a soft spot for DC. Would you cosplay Marvel characters if given the chance?

I would choose Huntress and Starfire, because these are my favorite characters. But I also like my Batgirl cosplay and Black Canary… Damn! And Catwoman too. I like all of my DC girls! I love the DС universe much more than Marvel characters. Maybe I just didnt have the opportunity to get to know them better. But yes, I thought about Marvel girls cosplay. I can’t be sure, but maybe someday you’ll see Marvel characters in my cosplay works.

Do you make your costumes by hand?

Some costumes I did myself, others I got help with detail work from my friends, and others details I had ordered to be made by experts. Everything depends on the complexity of the character, my skills, my budget, and whatever free time I have. Starting from these factors, I decide whether to do a suit independently or to get help from an expert.

Do you feel cosplay has positive effects on mental health?

Of course, you know about such an expression as “deadline,” it takes away a lot of nerves, causes real stress. Something may not work and this causes rage in you. It often happens that the suit is uncomfortable while wearing it, you can’t feel comfortable. But it’s nothing compared to that feeling when you see yourself as a character, you get amazing photos, on which you are like the hero of the film. Cosplay brings much more positive emotions than negative.

For anyone who wants to make money cosplaying, do you have any helpful tips?

Cosplay brings me a small income. This is only my hobby, not a work. I can advise you to sell your best photos as prints, and also do some details for cosplay by order, if you know how to do it well.

You use Patreon to help fund your cosplay finances. Do you think it’s worth using for other cosplayers?

It doesn’t work for me at all. Perhaps I myself don’t understand anything about this, since I have only one patron and this is my good friend. I think that it’s extremely difficult and it won’t work if you don’t publish photos of a sexual nature. It’s sad.

What kind of advice would you give to anyone who wants to start cosplaying?

I think that only love for a character is not suitable for cosplay. It’s necessary to choose a character for the entire type, by the body shape. Focus on your finances and experience, understand please that cosplay takes a lot of money. On the Internet now you can find everything, see the tutorials of experienced cosplayers, try to find something for you. Study different materials and choose only quality products. Cosplay is not a fancy costume for Halloween, cosplay is a more serious hobby, performed with special love. Good luck.

Who do you plan to cosplay next?

Talia Al Ghul from Batman: The Animated Series and Sailor Pluto from Sailor Moon.

kamiko

Kseniya Beknazarova, also known as Kamiko Zero is a cosplayer from Russia, who has a great love for DC and Sailor Moon. She’s got an impressive Instagram following and you can check out her cosplay images on her Instagram account and follow her on Facebook and Twitter.

If you’re a cosplayer and would like to be interviewed by The Comic Vault, then get in touch via the contact form, or email me at ryderj09@hotmail.co.uk

Author: thecomicvault

Short story writer and freelance copywriter from Manchester, England. I run the pop culture website The Comic Vault and animal protection website Wings And Wild Hearts.

3 thoughts on “Cosplayer Interview: Kamiko Zero”

  1. I didn’t realize that you did cosplay. What characters have you done?

    I am very impressed by so many of the people who do cosplay. It takes genuine skill & talent to create such detailed, accurate costumes, and real confidence to wear those outfits in public.

    Looking forward to future installments of this series on your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I cosplayed for the first time this year as Jason Todd/Red Hood. I’ve found it’s been helpful in terms of improving confidence. But there are people who’ve been doing it for years and have managed to turn it into a career. I can admire their drive and passion.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

