The Pop Culture Playlist: Spider-Man

The Pop Culture Playlist is a list of ten tracks that describes the journey of a superhero or villain. With Spider-Man: Homecoming just around the corner, I figured it’s the perfect time to put the spotlight on everyone’s favourite wall-crawler. Spider-Man is the quintessential hero: brave, determined and wonderfully human. His journey is relatable to many people, and here is the music of his life.

Empire State Of Mind by Jay Z and Alicia Keys

In New York
Concrete jungle where dreams are made of
There’s nothing you can’t do
Now you’re in New York
These streets will make you feel brand new
Big lights will inspire you
Let’s hear it for New York, New York, New York

Empire State Of Mind is a great song to start with because it describes the city Peter grew up in. New York has a life of its own, with everyone trying to make a name for themselves. This applies to Spider-Man and the villains he fights against. Peter will stop at nothing to protect his home and that is the essence of a true hero.

SpiderMan0001

All I Want by A Day To Remember

All I want is a place to call my own
To mend the hearts of everyone who feels alone
Whoa, you know to keep your hopes up high
And your head down low
Keep your hopes up high and your head down low
Still got something left to prove
It tends to keep things movin’ while everyone around me says
My last days are looming overhead
But just what the hell do they think they know

All I Want describes Spider-Man’s reputation and how hard he fights. To people like J. Jonah Jameson, he’s a menace to society. To others, he’s a symbol of hope and that struggle to find his place has always been a big part of the character.

You’re Gonna Go Far Kid by The Offspring

Another clever word
Sets off an unsuspecting herd
And as you get back into line
A mob jumps to their feet
Now dance, fucker, dance
Man, he never had a chance
And no one even knew
It was really only you
And now you steal away
Take him out today
Nice work you did
You’re gonna go far, kid

This song highlights all the potential Spidey has. From the moment he put on the mask, Peter was destined for great things. There’s a fast-paced energy to You’re Gonna Go Far Kid that matches with Spider-Man’s quips and humour.

Coming Home by Diddy

I’m coming home
I’m coming home
Tell the world I’m coming home
Let the rain wash away all the pain of yesterday
I know my kingdom awaits and they’ve forgiven my mistakes
I’m coming home, I’m coming home

In addition to being a nod to the upcoming film, this song can be used for Peter’s identity. He’ll always be the nerdy kid from Queens who realised that with great power comes great responsibility. He’s never lost sight of who he is.

Falling Inside The Black by Skillet

Falling in the black, slipping through the cracks
Falling to the depths, can I ever go back?
Dreaming of the way it used to be, can you hear me?
Falling in the black, slipping through the cracks
Falling to the depths, can I ever go back?
Falling inside the black
Falling inside, falling inside
The black

When I listen to Falling Inside The Black, I think of Spider-Man’s battle with the Venom symbiote. It bonded to him first and gave him a new kind of power that almost consumed him. Luckily, Peter remembered who he was and got rid of it.

Mary Jane’s Last Dance by Tom Petty And The Heartbreakers

Well she moved down here at the age of eighteen
She blew the boys away, it was more than they’d seen
I was introduced and we both started groovin’
She said, “I dig you baby but I got to keep movin’…on, keep movin’ on”
Last dance with Mary Jane
One more time to kill the pain
I feel summer creepin’ in and I’m
Tired of this town again

The love of Peter’s life is Mary Jane Watson and this song is ideal for describing the beginning of their relationship. In high school, MJ was the crush Peter never thought he could have. There’s a playfulness to the song that describes young love and the promise of something more in the future.

Hero by Nickelback

Someone told me love would all save us
But, how can that be, look what love gave us
A world full of killing and blood spilling
That world never came
And they say that a hero could save us
I’m not gonna stand here and wait
I’ll hold on to the wings of the eagles
Watch as we all fly away

Hero is a song about never giving up and Spider-Man’s heroism is his defining trait.

0a3d4f49a3912d0371cea962d054b987

My Girl by The Temptations

I’ve got sunshine on a cloudy day
When it’s cold outside I’ve got the month of May
Well I guess you’d say
What can make me feel this way?
My girl (my girl, my girl)
Talkin’ ’bout my girl (my girl)
I’ve got so much honey the bees envy me
I’ve got a sweeter song than the birds in the trees
Well I guess you’d say
What can make me feel this way?
My girl (my girl, my girl)
Talkin’ ’bout my girl (my girl ooh)

My Girl is the culmination of Peter and Mary Jane’s relationship. Over the years, they got closer until Peter revealed his secret identity to her. They got married and Peter proudly called MJ his girl.

Spider-MJ

I’ll Be Good by Jaymes Young

I thought I saw the devil
This morning
Looking in the mirror, drop of rum on my tongue
With the warning
To help me see myself clearer
I never meant to start a fire
I never meant to make you bleed
I’ll be a better man today

I’ll Be Good represents the promise Peter made to his uncle Ben. He strives to be a good person every day and protects the innocent.

New Blood by Zayde Wolf

Don’t try to fight
Nothing you can do
I’m gonna run all over you
It’s too late to try
Nothing you can do
I’m gonna run all over you

New Blood describes Spider-Man’s approach to life. When he has the mask on, he’s always moving forward.

What songs do you think describe Spider-Man the best? Don’t forget to leave a comment if you’d like to see your favourite hero or villain show up in The Pop Culture Playlist!

Author: thecomicvault

Short story writer and freelance copywriter from Manchester, England. I run the pop culture website The Comic Vault and animal protection website Wings And Wild Hearts.

3 thoughts on “The Pop Culture Playlist: Spider-Man”

Leave a Reply

