The Pop Culture Playlist: Rogue

It’s time for another edition of The Pop Culture Playlist, where I create a list of ten tracks and match them with a superhero or villain. Today, the featured character is everyone’s favourite southern belle, Rogue. With her ability to absorb the powers and memories of those she touches, Rogue is one of the most recognised X-Men. Her country charm matched with her vulnerability makes her a great character to come up with music for.

Mississippi Queen by Mountain

Mississippi Queen
You know what I mean
Mississippi Queen
She taught me everything
Went down around Vicksburg
Around Louisiana way
Where lived the Cajun Lady
Aboard the Mississippi Queen
You know she was a dancer
She moved better on wine

With its awesome guitar riffs and high energy, Mississippi Queen is an ideal song for Rogue. It reflects her southern heritage and matches her sassy attitude.

Southern Girl by Better Than Ezra

There she is
White light
descending like the color of rain
July or fall
one thing will never change
Down and out
you found this city has you on your back
You long for her to take you away

Southern Girl is another song that connects with where Rogue is from. In the eyes of her friends and loved ones, she’s got a good heart.

My Skin by Natalie Merchant

Take a look at my body
Look at my hands
There’s so much here
That I don’t understand
Your face saving promises
Whispered like prayers
I don’t need them
I’ve been treated so wrong
I’ve been treated so long
As if I’m becoming untouchable

My Skin represents Rogue’s vulnerability when it comes to her powers. She can’t touch anyone for fear that she’ll hurt them. Although Rogue has managed to gain control of her abilities in the past, the untouchable aspect of her character is what people associate with the most.

Iris by Goo Goo Dolls

And I don’t want the world to see me
‘Cause I don’t think that they’d understand
When everything’s meant to be broken
I just want you to know who I am
And you can’t fight the tears that ain’t coming
Or the moment of truth in your lies
When everything feels like the movies
Yeah you bleed just to know you’re alive

Iris can be used to describe Rogue’s journey through life. She started out as a scared girl who almost killed her first love. Then, she was adopted by Mystique and walked a dark path until she joined with the X-Men. She’s evolved into a strong woman who can take care of herself.

Luck Be A Lady by Frank Sinatra

Luck be a lady tonight
Luck be a lady tonight
Luck if you’ve ever been
A lady to begin with
Luck be a lady tonight

Luck Be A Lady makes me think of Rogue’s charm. Even with everything she’s been through in life, it doesn’t stop her from trying to live it to the fullest.

Smoke by A Thousand Horses

She comes rolling right off the tip of my tongue so easy
She’ll be the first damn thing I want when I start drinking
I’m breathing her in, breathing her out
Once I pick her up I can’t put her down
She’s smoke
I pull her in nice and slow
She’s a habit and I can’t let go
Blowing rings around my heart
The one she stole
Watching her sway and go
It’s killing me and I know
Can’t stop her once you start
She’s smoke

Rogue’s most well-known relationship is with Gambit, and this song represents Remy’s perspective. To him, Rogue is the most beautiful person he’s ever seen and he’ll continue to love her even when they aren’t together. Smoke has a country vibe to it that captures the dynamic of their relationship perfectly.

tumblr_lp6f1jeisu1r0bnryo1_1280

Like A Rolling Stone by Bob Dylan

Once upon a time you dressed so fine
Threw the bums a dime in your prime, didn’t you?
People call say ‘beware doll, you’re bound to fall’
You thought they were all kidding you
You used to laugh about
Everybody that was hanging out
Now you don’t talk so loud
Now you don’t seem so proud
About having to be scrounging your next meal
How does it feel, how does it feel?
To be without a home
Like a complete unknown, like a rolling stone

Like A Rolling Stone is useful for describing Rogue’s childhood. For many years she didn’t have a home and tried to find it wherever she could. It wasn’t until she joined the X-Men that Rogue realised where her home was.

A Sorta Fairytale by Tori Amos

On my way up north
Up on the Ventura
Pulled back the hood
And I was talking to you
And I knew then it would be
A lifelong thing
But I didn’t know that we
We could break a silver lining
And I’m so sad
Like a good book
I can’t put this day back
A sorta fairytale with you (a sorta fairytale with you)
A sorta fairytale with you

A Sorta Fairytale is a good title for Rogue and Gambit’s relationship. There’s a bitter sweetness to the song that talks of them always coming back into each other’s lives but never being able to stay together for long.

Begin The End by Placebo

Look me in the eyes, say that again
Take me to your chest, and let me in
Give me mouth-to-mouth, and make amends
Knock me off my feet like heroin
No need to disguise or to pretend
Don’t misconstrue and don’t misapprehend
There’s nothing left, no fortress to defend
And tonight’s the night that we begin the end
You and I kept looking to transcend
The fact that I was breaking to your bend
But this is now and, sadly, that was then
And tonight’s the night that we begin the end

Rogue’s other relationship was with Magneto and Begin The End is a good choice for them. Although their relationship was intense and they loved each other, Magneto could never turn away from his mission and Rogue could never agree with him killing.

Kiss Me Deadly by Lita Ford

But I know what I like
I know I like dancing with you
And I know what you like
I know you like dancing with me oh yeah
Kiss me once
Kiss me twice
Come on pretty baby kiss me deadly
Kiss Me Deadly signifies the danger of Rogue’s powers. If she were to touch someone for an extended period then she could cause permanent damage or death.

What songs do you think describe Rogue best? If you’d like to see your favourite hero or villain be featured in The Pop Culture Playlist then let me know!

For a look at Gambit’s playlist, you can find it here.

Author: thecomicvault

Short story writer and freelance copywriter from Manchester, England. I run the pop culture website The Comic Vault and animal protection website Wings And Wild Hearts.

2 thoughts on “The Pop Culture Playlist: Rogue”

Leave a Reply

