The Pop Culture Playlist: Wonder Woman

It’s time for another edition of The Pop Culture Playlist, focusing on the one and only Wonder Woman. Princess Diana is the epitome of a strong woman. She’s courageous, compassionate and wants to make the world a better place. With the release of Wonder Woman, fans will get a chance to see the character come to life on the big screen. So, here are ten tracks that describe who Diana is and what she stands for.

ww28hermes

I Am The Fire by Halestorm

Am I brave enough?
Am I strong enough?
To follow the desire
That burns from within
To push away my fear
To stand where I’m afraid
I am through with this
‘Cause I am more than this
I promise to myself
Alone and no one else
My flame is rising higher
I am the fire
I am burning brighter
Roaring like a storm
And I am the one I’ve been waiting for
Screaming like a siren
Alive and burning brighter
I am the fire

I Am The Fire is an ideal track for describing a young Diana growing up on Themyscira. Initially, she has doubts about her place in the world, but as she trains she becomes more aware of what she’s capable of. Diana becomes a beacon of hope that burns brightly for all to see.

Fight Like Gods by Chelsea Wolfe

You doubt and you’re desperate
You wear both your cross and your hammer
Such beautiful dreams of violence
In them your tongue is made of silver
But we don’t fight like animals, we fight like Men
No we don’t fight like men, we fight like Gods

This song can be used to describe the Amazons and their culture. They’re formidable in battle and Wonder Woman is the greatest of them all.

You Don’t Own Me by Grace

Don’t tell me what to do
And don’t tell me what to say
Please, when I go out with you
Don’t put me on display
You don’t own me
Don’t try to change me in any way
You don’t own me
Don’t tie me down ’cause I’d never stay

You Don’t Own Me symbolises Diana’s sense of independence. She doesn’t need anyone to fight her battles.

Killer Queen by Queen

She’s a Killer Queen
Gunpowder, gelatine
Dynamite with a laser beam
Guaranteed to blow your mind
Anytime

Killer Queen is a great song for describing Wonder Woman’s ferocity on the battlefield. Many criminals have found out the hard way why you shouldn’t tangle with an Amazon.

Unstoppable by Sia

I’m unstoppable
I’m a Porsche with no brakes
I’m invincible
Yeah, I win every single game
I’m so powerful
I don’t need batteries to play
I’m so confident, yeah, I’m unstoppable today
Unstoppable today, unstoppable today
Unstoppable today, I’m unstoppable today

Unstoppable has an energy behind it that matches Diana’s determination. No matter how bad the situation, she’ll never give up.

wonder-woman-showing-compassion

Lift Me Up by Five Finger Death Punch

There’s no room for mistakes
All the parts are in place
Say what you will but say it to my face
Better back the fuck up
Better shut the fuck up
I’ll do what I want
And I’ll never give up
I won’t be broken
I won’t be tortured
I won’t be beaten down

Diana’s strength makes her someone that people can identify with. Lift Me Up is the kind of hard-hitting anthem that gets people pumped to face the day and it describes her well.

Battle Cry by Skillet

If we believe we can’t lose
Even mountains will move
It’s my faith, it’s my life
This is our battle cry
They can’t take us down
If we stand our ground
If we live, if we die
We will shout out
our battle cry

When listening to Battle Cry, I imagine Diana standing at the head of an army and telling her warriors not to give up. She’s a born leader and people will follow her to hell and back.

compassion2

One Woman Army by Porcelain Black

I’m on the battlefield
Like, oh my God (ooh la la)
Knocking soldiers down
Like house of cards (ooh la la)
I’m a one woman army (ooh la la)
Yes, I’m a one woman army
(ooh la la, ooh la la, ooh la la)

This is another great song for describing Diana’s skill in battle. She can take on an army by herself and still be standing when the dust has settled.

Fury Oh Fury by Nico Vega

Make it rain
To rinse me out
In the cold, I die
In the spring, I sprout
My fire is wild
My rage is deep
One black eye
Busted teeth

Fury Oh Fury has a swagger to it that matches Diana’s confidence.

Heartlines by Florence + The Machine

Oh the river, oh the river, it’s running free
And oh the joy, oh the joy it brings to me
But I know it’ll have to drown me,
Before I can breathe easy
And I’ve seen it in the flights of birds,
I’ve seen it in you
The entrails of the animals,
The blood running through
But in order to get to the heart,
I think sometimes you’ll have to cut through

Heartlines makes me think of Diana’s connection to Themyscira. Even when she’s away from home, the island has a special place in her heart.

What songs do you think describe Wonder Woman best? If you’d like to see any heroes or villains appear on The Pop Culture Playlist then comment below!

Author: thecomicvault

Short story writer from Manchester, England. I run the pop culture website The Comic Vault and food website Eating In Valhalla.

5 thoughts on “The Pop Culture Playlist: Wonder Woman”

  1. some good song choices here that reflects her fierceness. you should also check out “Wonder Woman” by Larissa Lam. It gives a nod to Superman too but it’s a clever song.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

