The Pop Culture Playlist: Harley Quinn

When people ask for a request, I always do my best to give them what they want. A few weeks ago, Ignitedmoth requested Harley Quinn for The Pop Culture Playlist. Harley’s unpredictability has made her a fan favourite for years. I’ve put together a track list that showcases her love of mayhem and the vulnerable side of her personality.

Bubblegum Bitch by Marina And The Diamonds

I’ll chew you up and I’ll spit you out
‘Cause that’s what young love is all about
So pull me closer, and kiss me hard
I’m gonna pop your bubblegum heart
I’m miss sugar pink liquor, liquor lips
Hit me with your sweet love, steal me with a kiss
I’m miss sugar pink liquor, liquor lips
I’m gonna be your bubblegum bitch
I’m gonna be your bubblegum bitch

Harley’s love for The Joker is one of her defining characteristics. This song has a deceptive quality to it because in Harley’s mind she wants to be Joker’s everything. She’s hopelessly devoted to him and can’t look past his manipulation and abuse.

07HARLEYQUINN1-master675

Dangerous Woman by Ariana Grande

Oh yeah
Don’t need permission
Made my decision to test my limits
‘Cause it’s my business
God as my witness
Start what I finished
Don’t need no hold up
Taking control of this kind of moment
I’m locked and loaded
Completely focused my mind is open

Dangerous Woman can be used to describe Harley’s darker side. Although she might look sweet on the outside, she’s capable of doing horrible things. Despite many people underestimating her, she’s a lot smarter than she’s given credit for.

Cherry Bomb by The Runaways

Can’t stay at home, can’t stay at school
Old folks say ‘You poor little fool’
Down the streets I’m the girl next door
I’m the fox you’ve been waiting for
Hello, daddy. Hello, mom
I’m your ch-ch-ch-cherry bomb!
Hello world! I’m your wild girl
I’m your ch-ch-ch-cherry bomb!

Cherry Bomb has the kind of frenetic energy that matches Harley’s style. I could imagine her humming the song while she’s robbing a bank or getting her bat ready.

Circus For A Psycho by Skillet

You think you’re gonna hurt me
Get ready to get dirty
You created this beast inside
Pull the noose tighter
And lift a little higher
Because you’re killing me slow
I ain’t ready to die

This song represents Harley’s resilience. Although she’s been in love with Joker for many years, there are times when she’s been able to stand up for herself. Circus For A Psycho is a great song for showing her defiance and being able to form her own identity.

63_17

Highway To Hell by AC/DC

Living easy, living free
Season ticket on a one-way ride
Asking nothing, leave me be
Taking everything in my stride
Don’t need reason, don’t need rhyme
Ain’t nothing I would rather do
Going down, party time
My friends are gonna be there too
I’m on the highway to hell
On the highway to hell
Highway to hell
I’m on the highway to hell

Highway To Hell describes Harley’s descent into madness. She used to be a capable psychologist until the Joker ‘expanded’ her mind and turned her into a twisted reflection of himself.

Why’d You Only Call Me When You’re High? by Arctic Monkeys

Now it’s three in the morning and I’m trying to change your mind
Left you multiple missed calls and to my message you reply,
“Why’d you only call me when you’re high?
Hi, why’d you only call me when you’re high?”

This song can be used to describe Harley’s obsession with Joker. There is a pining, sexual riff to the music that can be taken as her repeatedly calling him.

Sucker For Pain by Lil Wayne

I torture you
Take my hand through the flames
I torture you
I’m a slave to your games
I’m just a sucker for pain
I wanna chain you up
I wanna tie you down
I’m just a sucker for pain

Sucker For Pain represents the masochistic side of Harley’s personality. She’s willing to let Joker do whatever he wants. The song could be taken for a duet with Joker professing how much he loves to torture her and Harley singing along.

I Started A Joke by The Bee Gees

I started a joke which started the whole world crying
But I didn’t see that the joke was on me oh no
I started to cry which started the whole world laughing
Oh If I’d only seen that the joke was on me

I Started A Joke has a tragic quality that makes me think of the abusive cycle Harley is trapped in. There are times when she can be swayed into doing something altruistic, but always runs back to Joker in the end.

Girlfriend by Icona Pop

All I need in this life of sin is me and my girlfriend
Down to ride till the happy end, is me and my girlfriend
Where would you be, be without me
We’ll never find out
What would I do, do without you
We’ll never know now

Girlfriend is a song that describes the relationship between Harley and Poison Ivy. The two characters have a long history of working together in the comics and Harley considers Ivy her best friend.

f7731fdd449c7856a0694d1f90d9f4fd1a65153b_hq

Funhouse by Pink

I dance around this empty house
Tear us down
Throw you out
Screaming down the halls
Spinning all around and now we fall
Pictures framing up the past
Your taunting smirk behind the glass
This museum full of ash
Once a tickle
Now a rash
This used to be a funhouse
But now it’s full of evil clowns
It’s time to start the countdown

Funhouse is perfect for summing up Harley’s life. She started off wanting to do good, but was corrupted and fell into madness.

If you liked the Harley Quinn version of The Pop Culture Playlist, be sure to look back at The Joker edition.

Author: thecomicvault

Short story writer and freelance copywriter from Manchester, England. I run the pop culture website The Comic Vault and animal protection website Wings And Wild Hearts.

4 thoughts on “The Pop Culture Playlist: Harley Quinn”

  1. Yay! Thank you so much for doing a Harley Quinn playlist! 😀
    I love the songs you put together for this, and that you made a song especially for her relationship with Poison Ivy. 🙂 There’s a lot of really good songs on this list and you totally nailed it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

