The Pop Culture Playlist: Iron Man

Homeofcomics has put a request in for The Pop Culture Playlist, and I’m happy to oblige by putting together music for Iron Man. Tony Stark is a genius, who’s done a lot to help the world with his inventions. He’s also egotistical, has messed up spectacularly and used to be an alcoholic. There’s plenty of material to cover in the epic story of Iron Man.

Iron Man by Black Sabbath

I am Iron Man!
Has he lost his mind?
Can he see or is he blind?
Can he walk at all,
Or if he moves will he fall?
Is he alive or dead?
Has he thoughts within his head?
We’ll just pass him there
Why should we even care?
He was turned to steel
In the great magnetic field
Where he traveled time
For the future of mankind

An appropriate first choice, you’d almost think Black Sabbath wrote this with Tony in mind. The song is a reminder of Stark’s strength, as he is one of the most determined men in the Marvel Universe. There’s also a hint of the futuristic side of his personality because he invents things to make life better for people everywhere.

iron-man-2

Why Should I Worry? by Billy Joel

I’m streetsmart, I’ve got New York City heart
The rhythm of the city
But once you get it down
Then you can own this town
You can wear the crown
Why should I worry?
Why should I care?
And even when I cross that line
I got street savoire faire

This song is perfect for describing Tony’s swagger. He’s confident in every situation, to the point it could be perceived as arrogance.

Breakdown by Seether

So break me down if it makes you feel right
And hate me now if it keeps you alright
You can break me down if it takes all your might
Because I’m so much more than meets the eye

Breakdown is a good song for describing how misunderstood Tony can be. While some people might see him as arrogant, he’s still a hero.

Icarus by Bastille

Living beyond your years
Acting out all their fears
You feel it in your chest
Your hands protect the flames
From the wild winds around you
Icarus is flying too close to the sun
And Icarus’s life, it has only just begun

This song acts as a cautionary tale for reaching beyond your grasp. Stark pushes himself on a regular basis to create new things and it’s had dire consequences.

Car Radio by Twenty One Pilots

I ponder of something great
My lungs will fill and then deflate
They fill with fire, exhale desire
I know it’s dire my time today

Car Radio describes a man who wants to achieve great things, even when he has to sacrifice a lot. Tony is aware of how much he pushes back against forces he can’t control, but it doesn’t stop him from doing it.

I’m Not Okay by My Chemical Romance

I’m not okay
I’m not okay
I’m not okay
You wear me out

I’m Not Okay speaks of the self-destructive side of Iron Man. It could be taken that he wears himself out or the rest of the world does.

It’s My Life by Bon Jovi

It’s my life
It’s now or never
I ain’t gonna live forever
I just want to live while I’m alive

It’s My Life is an ideal song for describing how Tony lives his life. He’s never satisfied with wasting a day and needs to soak the moment up.

Radioactive by Imagine Dragons

I’m waking up to ash and dust,
I wipe my brow and I sweat my rust,
I’m breathing in, the chemicals

Listening to Radioactive makes me think of how Tony became Iron Man. Every suit of armour is a a part of him, from the original, to the Extremis metal he injected into his bloodstream.

Good Times Bad Times by Led Zeppelin

In the days of my youth
I was told what it was to be a man
Now I’ve reached the age
I’ve tried to do all those things the best I can
No matter how I try
I find my way to do the same old jam

The angsty guitar riffs of the song work well to sum Tony up as a man. No matter how many good deeds he does, he can’t get away from the mistakes he’s made.

Happiness by Three Days Grace

I reach out when I have a confession
I reach out in desperation
I reach out when no one is listening
So I could looking for the next best thing
Happiness straight from the bottle
When real life’s too hard to swallow
Happiness straight from the bottle
When real life’s too hard to swallow

Happiness is perfect for talking about Stark’s alcoholism. The nine-issue story arc, Demon In A Bottle, published in 1979 goes into depth about his struggles with substance abuse.

iron-man-alcohol

What songs do you think suit Iron Man? And if you’d like to see your favourite hero or villain appear in The Pop Culture Playlist then let me know in a comment!

Author: thecomicvault

Short story writer and freelance copywriter from Manchester, England. I run the pop culture website The Comic Vault and animal protection website Wings And Wild Hearts.

6 thoughts on “The Pop Culture Playlist: Iron Man”

  1. Another great list. I love that Black Sabbath song. A very appropriate start to this list! 😉
    Good choice on Radioactive by Imagine Dragons, too. I wouldn’t have thought to include that one but it totally fits!
    Since you’re taking requests for heroes/villains can I suggest Harley Quinn? I adore her and think it would be cool to see your take on a playlist for her.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

