Real Neat Blog Award!

It still surprises me that I’ve been here for only a short amount of time and I can be nominated for awards so quickly. All I can say is thank you to Zezee With Books, who’s nominated me for the Real Neat Blog Award. I’ve enjoyed interacting with her over the last month or so. I’ve been able to introduce her to a few comic characters she’s never heard of and I’ve been able to discover a few news books from reading her posts.

real-neat-blog-award

The Rules:

Thank and link the person who nominated you.
Answer the 7 questions your nominator has provided.
Nominate 7 other bloggers and create 7 questions for them.

Zezee’s Questions

Do you think you would survive a zombie apocalypse?

I’d like to think I could, but we can’t assume an actual zombie apocalypse would be anything like what happens in films. My strategy would be to hole up somewhere well-defended and fight to protect the ones I care about.

How do you think the phrase ‘taste the rainbow’ came about?

The first time I heard it was from a skittles advert, so that’s what I associate the phrase with.

If you happened to fall into a fairy world that somehow matched who or how you are, what sort of fairy world would that be?

A pretty grim place, balanced by bouts of sunshine.

Do you think you’d survive in Westeros?

Given that I love the ASOIF series I’d say there’s a good chance of that. I’d pledge my support to Dany and keep out of the way of her dragons.

 What’s your favourite book by your favourite author?

My favourite book is Saint’s Blood by Sebastien De Castell. I can never give enough praise to The Greatcoat series. The reason it’s my favourite book is because it deals with themes such as idealism and religion. It’s what you believe is right vs what you’re supposed to believe is right. The characters are incredible and Falcio Val Mond is one of the most realistic protagonists I’ve ever read.

If you use e-readers, what needed change would you make to them?

As the short stories I’ve published are online, I’d try and make e-readers more informed about my stories before I mentioned them. I’ve started to do that on The Comic Vault by posting samples of my fiction in the hopes that people would become interested in buying works I’ve published in future.

What’s the last nonfiction book you read?

The last nonfiction book I read was The Devil In The White City by Erik Larson. It deals with the 1893 Chicago World Fair and the serial killer H.H Holmes. It’s a dark, gripping book that’s written ike a novel, but everything in it is true.

Nominees

Riverrockcomics

Raistlin0903

Ignitedmoth

Rakioddbooks

Btweenthepages

Theencouragingscribe

My 7 Questions

1. If you could be any kind of animal what would it be?
2. Where is one of the best places you’ve travelled to?
3. Who is your favourite superhero?
4. What would your ideal home be like?
5. What is one of your favourite books?
6. Do you think there is such a thing as fate?
7. What kind of music do you like?

giphy.gif

Author: thecomicvault

Short story writer and freelance copywriter from Manchester, England. I run the pop culture website The Comic Vault and animal protection website Wings And Wild Hearts.

14 thoughts on “Real Neat Blog Award!”

  1. Congrats on the award nomination! Your blog is definitely deserving of the “Neat Blog” Award. It’s quite addicting. 🙂
    And thank you so much for the nomination. I really appreciate it!
    Also, nice answers for your questions. I actually own a copy of The Devil in the White City that I have yet to read, so it’s nice to hear that it is worth the read. I feel like I have a mountain of books to be read, but never enough time to dwindle them down. (It probably doesn’t help that I keep adding more and more to the ever-growing list.) 😛

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Congratulations on your award Jamie!! Yes, your blog sure is a Neat Blog Many thanks also for your nomination of my blog, I truly appreciate the honour, but I went “award free” after ten awards. It’s a truly rewarding feeling when you’re nominated, but with working full time, baby sitting my grandchildren on my only day off and trying to complete and edit my YA novel, I found it all too much. You’re going to find the more followers you accumulate, the more blog awards you’ll receive — LOL they seem to go hand in hand. There are lots of “pros” to receiving blog awards, and one of them is you have to answer questions and then nominate other bloggers to receive the same award. That means you have to write a new blog post. On days when you can’t decide what to write, they come in very handy 😀
    I did have a notice on my blog about not accepting awards, but when I checked this morning, it and several other images had vanished. Not sure what caused it, but it’s back up now. I’ll admit I pinched the current one off a friend’s site but adjusted the colour a bit 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Congratulations on the award. It is not a big surprise to me: your blog is absolutely awesome, with a lot of high quality posts and interesting features. Keep up the great work, and thank you for the nomination: appreciate it a lot 😊😊

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You’re welcome Jaimie! And because of your guest blog post on MightyThors blog (I might have messed up the name there and I can’t check cause I’m on my phone 😫), I now really want to read Saint’s Blood.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

