The Pop Culture Playlist: Thor

With this edition of The Pop Culture Playlist, I’m putting Thor in the spotlight. The Thunder God has long been established as one of Marvel’s flagship characters and powerhouses. With limitless strength and the power to wield Mjolnir, he’s a worthy character to create a playlist for. Let’s get ready to Ragnarok and roll.

Hero by Skillet

I need a hero to save me now
I need a hero (save me now)
I need a hero to save my life
A hero’ll save me (just in time)

Skillet’s electric fuelled chords are an ideal anthem for celebrating the might of Thor. He’s the quintessential hero: noble, powerful, good-natured and dedicated to protecting Earth and Asgard.

thor

Ride The Lightning by Metallica

Who made you God to say
I’ll take your life from you
Flash before my eyes
Now it’s time to die
Burning in my brain
I can feel the flames

As a warrior, Thor is no stranger to blood and battle. Ride The Lightning is a song that taps into his fighting spirit and acts as a reminder that he will do what is necessary to defend Earth from cosmic threats.

Any Other Way by We The Kings

I am wide awake
And I’m standing tall
Up against the world
Up against the wall
Between the love and hate
They can hardly wait
To watch the hero fall

When listening to Any Other Way, it reminded me of Thor’s willpower. No matter how many challenges he’s faced through the years, he’s refused to give up. It’s the mark of a true hero to rise above adversity and fight for the people you care for.

Into The Nothing by Breaking Benjamin

Into the nothing
Faded and weary
I won’t leave and let you fall behind
Live for the dying
Heaven hear me
I know we can make it out alive

Breaking Benjamin’s grungy songs are like listening to a Nordic ballad unfold. I picture Thor leading Asgard’s warriors into battle when I listen to Into The Nothing. Thor is a sefless man who will put himself before others, and it fits with him wanting to make sure everyone will make it to see the next fight.

Savin’ Me by Nickelback

Show me what it’s like
To be the last one standing
And teach me wrong from right
And I’ll show you what I can be
Say it for me
Say it to me
And I’ll leave this life behind me
Say it if it’s worth saving me

Savin’ Me is a great song for describing the love and hate relationship between Thor and Loki. Thor wants to redeem his brother, while Loki’s nature is to scheme and plot. They’ve worked together as much as they’ve fought each other, but Thor still believes he and Loki will reconcile for good one day.

jim_642_thor_hugs_loki

God Pounds His Nails by Fozzy

Hey Hey Hey
Like a thunderbolt from Heaven
Swinging that hammer
You know that God He pounds his nails

Every time I listen to God Pounds His Nails, I imagine Thor bringing Mjolnir down onto an opponent. Although Thor is mild-tempered, his wrath is a terrible thing to incur, and the song reflects his power.

Indestructible by Disturbed

Indestructible
Determination that is incorruptible
From the other side
A terror to behold
Annihilation will be unavoidable
Every broken enemy will know
That their opponent had to be invincible
Take a last look around while you’re alive
I’m an indestructible master of war

As a god, Thor is a force to be reckoned with. Having stood against Galactus, Thanos and many other threats, he has earned his legendary reputation.

Thunderstruck by AC/DC

Sound of the drums
Beatin’ in my heart
The thunder of guns
Tore me apart
You’ve been thunderstruck

Thunderstruck has high energy behind it, matching Thor’s approach to battle. He enjoys being in the thick of it with a laugh on his lips and a song in his heart.

Stormur by Sigur Rós

It pours on the windows
Think about the ocean
Drink from the spout of a bottle
Dries itself with handkerchief
Light up a stump of wood
Ties a scarf around the head
Storm in a glass of water
Animation
Tornado in the skull
Tickle up cold shivers

Stormur translates as storm in English, and it’s a suitable analogy for the God of Thunder. Storms are majestic and powerful. They are forces of nature that can’t be predicted or controlled. Sigur Rós are an Icelandic band that sing in their native tongue, so the song has an otherworldly quality to it that sounds beautiful.

The Lightning Strike by Snow Patrol

What if this storm ends?
And I don’t see you
As you are now
Ever again
The perfect halo
Of gold hair and lightning
Sets you off against
The planet’s last dance
Just for a minute
The silver forked sky
Lit you up like a star
That I will follow

This song makes me think of Thor’s relationship with Sif. In mythology and comics they have a romantic bond that can’t be broken. Sif isn’t the type of woman who will stand by and do nothing. She will follow Thor into battle and fight beside him.

1792366-thor_and_sif___mighty_thor_2

Do you have any songs that describe Thor? And if you’d like to see your favourite superhero or villain show up in The Pop Culture Playlist then comment below!

Author: thecomicvault

Short story writer and freelance copywriter from Manchester, England. I run the pop culture website The Comic Vault and animal protection website Wings And Wild Hearts.

9 thoughts on “The Pop Culture Playlist: Thor”

Leave a Reply

