The Pop Culture Playlist: Red Hood

As The Pop Culture Playlist was so well received last week, I’m going to turn it into a regular segment. This week, I’m putting the spotlight on Red Hood with a playlist that tells the story of his relationship with Batman and how he’ll always do what he thinks is right.

Be Somebody by A Thousand Foot Krutch

I’m just the boy inside the man, not exactly who you think I am
Trying to trace my steps back here again so many times
I’m just a speck inside your hand, you came and made me who I am
I remember where it all began so clearly
I feel a million miles away, still you connect me in your way
And you create in me something I would’ve never seen

Jason grew up on the streets of Gotham, stealing to support his drug addicted mother. When Batman found him in Crime Alley, he gave Jason a purpose and turned him into Robin. Be Somebody is a deeply reflective song about a man who still wants to do good in the world despite him not being what Bruce thought he would be. Although their relationship is strained, Jason will always be grateful for what Batman taught him.

7d42c13443001dcc99f5a83f15ee9f45

Numb by Linkin Park

I’ve become so numb, I can’t feel you there
Become so tired, so much more aware
By becoming this all I want to do
Is be more like me and be less like you

The moody and rebellious chords of Numb describe Jason well. Willing to use lethal force to stop crime, he’s been at odds with Batman ever since he came back from the dead. The frustration can be heard in the lyrics about wanting to live your own life.

Remember Everything by Five Finger Death Punch

If I could hold back the rain
Would you numb the pain?
‘Cause I remember everything
If I could help you forget
Would you take my regrets?
‘Cause I remember everything

Jason’s death is one of Bruce’s biggest regrets and it causes a lot of tension between them. Jason remembers coming back to life in The Lazarus Pit and there’s a lot of pain on both sides.

45 By Shinedown

And I’m staring down the barrel of a 45,
Swimming through the ashes of another life
No real reason to accept the way things have changed
Staring down the barrel of a 45

This song makes me think of Jason’s transformation into Red Hood. He used The Joker’s old alias as a way of facing his fear, much like Bruce became Batman through his fear of bats. Jason recalls his old life as Robin, but he’s not going to let it stop him from living his new life.

5129279-9876485457-batma

Fix Me by 10 Years

So lost for so long
To find my way
I failed to follow
I’m out of place
Crossing lines
Small crimes
Taking back what is mine

Fix Me makes me think of Jason taking on his own mission to protect Gotham. He isn’t afraid to kill or make the hard choices. He’s taking back control and doing the things Batman can’t.

Someday by Nickelback

Someday, somehow
Gonna make it alright but not right now
I know you’re wondering when
(You’re the only one who knows that)

When I listen to Someday, I think of a relationship between a son who is angry at his father. Jason wants to know when Bruce will make things right, but both of them are too stubborn to give up any middle ground.

Saviour by Lights

I just want to run to you
And break off the chains, and throw them away
I just want to be so much
And shake off the dust that turned me to rust

Saviour tells the story of someone who is trying to let go of their past and it describes Jason perfectly. Deep down, he wants to make Bruce proud and forget about all the pain he’s suffered.

RedHood18f.jpg

The Older I Get by Skillet

The time between
Those cutting words
Built up our defenses never made no sense, it just made me hurt
Do you believe
That time heals all wounds?

Healing a broken relationship can take years of hard work and service. Through all the arguing, Jason and Bruce have stood by their own convictions. Skillet are an ideal choice for depicting the complicated dynamic between adoptive father and son.

See You Again by Whiz Khalifa and Charlie Puth

So let the light guide your way, yeah
Hold every memory as you go
And every road you take, will always lead you home

Jason has been through a lot, from the time he was boy to becoming a young man. When listening to See You Again I think of everything he’s faced with The Bat Family and how he’ll find his way home again.

Leave Out All The Rest by Linkin Park

When my time comes
Forget the wrong that I’ve done
Help me leave behind some reasons to be missed
And don’t resent me
And when you’re feeling empty
Keep me in your memory

In recent years, Jason has mended his relationship with Bruce and they are on better terms. Leave Out All The Rest is a great song for showing how far they’ve come together. Jason wants Bruce to forgive him for all the mistakes he’s made.

tumblr_nsba5ihqdq1qf0kkio6_1280

What songs do you think are best for your favourite character? If there’s any superheroes or villains you’d like to be featued on The Pop Culture Playlist comment below!

Author: thecomicvault

Short story writer and freelance copywriter from Manchester, England. I run the pop culture website The Comic Vault and animal protection website Wings And Wild Hearts.

Leave a Reply

